Ramadan is here, the best month of the year

I didn’t make up that line, Native Deen did.

As always, I’ve been meaning to blog sooner, but I got into the ‘I want to write a proper post/but I haven’t got time/but my blog is dead’ cycle.

So it is Ramadan, unfortunately, I still have two essays to do, so I’m not as focused as I would like to be. Also, I’m still a heinous Waster of Time on The Internet. I wonder if it’s because so much of my time is spent doing things that need to be done, whether it’s looking after Oreo, working or studying, so when I have some free time I just want to relax and not do anything worthy.

Alhamdulilah, I’m not finding the fasting too hard, although trying to persuade Oreo not to feed me her apple today was somewhat difficult.

Some where in Twitter I found this really cynical piece about Ramadan, its commercial effect and so on. It had that whole ‘Oh those Muslims, they think they’re so pious but they’re not’ vibe about it. Or maybe I’m being oversensitive.

But it brings home to me that I’m tired, tired, tired of Islam and Muslims being discussed and pasted and debated everywhere. Just shush like Bjork says and leave us alone.

When I think about Ramadan, I think about peace and quiet. Eating my suhoor early in the morning, praying at night in the dark, the hungry feeling inside. Reading my Yusuf Ali transliteration. Not saying something I shouldn’t.  Just thinking about what Ramadan means. It’s a quiet month.

I could not read, not click, not see. I could get annoyed about the US-centric concern for a possible mosque (ish) many thousands of miles away, but that goes against my feelings that we should live and participate in this world, not just treat it as a waiting room.

But, I’m thinking about the clutter in my life and the peace I want instead.

So how to filter without turning away?

How to have peace when there is still so much to fight for, so much ignorance to combat?

2 Responses

  1. Assalamualaikum sis,

    Dont worry. It happens everywhere. When tabloid dies down, people will always pick on Islam to talk about in the media. Thats reality…and it sucks, let me tell you. But just don’t bother too much about it. What can we do? They will always twist our words or mock our religion, just be who you are and let them see how beautiful Islam really is.

  2. I heard the author of the post you link to on my local public radio. I don’t think you’re being too sensitive at all. The woman interviewing him seemed to want to know about Muslims (she also mistakenly connected Ramadan to hajj- he did not correct her b/c to actually inform her would go against his schtick). I pick up that his point is to ” Christmas”Ramadan by showing how Ramadan is all consumered out or in his words “profane” too. But by connecting (rather sloppily) these factoids he misses out on the actual practice of Ramadan among individuals rather than govts or leaders. I barely spend money during Ramadan. I become the anti-consumer. This is academia at it’s worse.
    Feigned nuance.

    Yes. You are right- it is difficult to find that quiet space when there is so much work to be done. But one has to have some space for the worship & if not during Ramadan when? To reference Bjork again there is nothing wrong with going to that hidden space : ) If only for a little while.

Leave a Reply

