I want to blow bubbles for ever

When Oreo was born, I wanted to put us both in a bubble. A warm, cosy bubble where we could eat, sleep and snuggle.

It wasn’t possible to build an actual bubble, but we’re still in a bubble like state. We have our little world of feed times, nap times bath time, afternoon walks, smiles and tickles.

And it’s wonderful, Alhamdulilah.

That might sound like Mr Outlines is on the sidelines, but far from it. Abu Oreo loves his baby girl. He’s in love. As I watch him cuddle her and whisper to her in Arabic I see a new side to him and I love him even more.

I’m wondering why I’m writing this. I’m not the most sharing type of blogger. I guess it’s because you read so much about the downside of parenting, I just wanted to talk about the positives.

Islamically, mothering is seen a an important role, but too often it’s made to sound like a grim duty, rather then the joy and form of worship that it is.

So I’ve decided to host a blog carnival. The theme is Muslim motherhood. Any submissions dealing with being a Muslim mother or having a Muslim mother are welcome. Leave me an email, comment or trackback and on 25th April 2009, insha Allah,  I’ll put up all the links.

14 Responses

  1. I want to blow bubbles forever too. I guess that’s why a lot of Mamas want to do it all over again, and have lots of kids. Having lots of kids usually ensures that we will also have lots of grandkids as well. 🙂 Then you can blow bubbles “forever,” because, theoretically you will always have a house-full of little ones. I’d love the position of “the Great Matriarch” at the center of a very large family; wouldn’t you? I believe that the mothers have more power than anyone wants to admit…it’s a subtle power that is easy to overlook or belittle, but it is power none-the-less.

  2. I’m ALL over this ONE! Can’t wait.

    -fellow bubble maker. 😉

  3. Bismillah

    as salamu ‘alaykum

    Jazaki Allahu khairan for starting this. Insha’Allah I shall definitely participate. : ))

  4. that sounds wonderful,
    albeit im not a mom

    but i love the warmth
    and the ideas of preserving positivity

    🙂

    best of luck

  5. […] Safiya Outlines is hosting a Motherhood Blogging Carnival. More details at her site. […]

  6. […] of Muslim motherhood Safiya of Outlines is hosting the Carnival of Motherhood. Submissions are due by April […]

  7. […] I want to blow bubbles for ever « Outlines Abu Oreo loves his baby girl. He’s in love. As I watch him cuddle her and whisper to her in Arabic I see a new side to him and I love him even more. […]

  8. Enjoy the bubble. I think it only happens with the first one. You get to nap when the baby naps and just have time to enjoy watching them sleeping in your arms.

    When you have more than one, there’s playdates, classes, clubs, board books, potty training and all the other things that make that bubble-like state difficult.

  9. I loved those first years with just one child. Magical. Count me in.

  10. Salaam Alaikum,

    Yay to everyone who’s joining in. Insha Allah, I look forward to reading your posts.

    FL & UmmF – Aww you’re kind of worrying me a bit, because I definitely want more then one child. Is it not a case of the more the merrier? To be fair, I can’t see myself having more then 3 though, insha Allah.

  11. […] is hosting the (first of its kind by the looks of it) Muslim Motherhood Blog Carnival. Head down there and check out all the details. Entries must be in by 25th April so hop to […]

  12. I’d love to be able to read your password protected posts, but I can’t seem to find any email address for you so that I can ask properly…

    My email address is safiyaoutlines at gmail dot com. You can also find it on the “Colouring in the Outlines” page.

  13. This sounds like a fantastic idea! And congrats on a fantastic blog.

Leave a Reply

