Please and Thank You

So tomorrow is the big day and I wish I didn’t have to care so much about it. Sure, it sucked when the French elected Sarkozy (and by such a narrow margin too), but that was more worry about the lives of my Muslim siblings in France, rather then a feeling of sadness for the whole world. After Bush’s re-election I can remember The independent front page which just read “Four More Years”, with pictures of the various atrocities that had taken place while he had been in power.

A victory for Obama would be something very special. You Tube comments are usually a pit of inanity, but recently I watched the video for “A Change is Gonna Come” by Sam Cooke and all the recent comments were talking about Obama and how he was the change they wanted.

So to any Americans reading this, please vote for Obama tomorrow.

On the other side of the Americas, another man of mixed race* secured his place in history. Lewis Hamilton’s victory in the Formula One championship was the stuff of fairy tales but also the result of years of hard work and a father who made many sacrifices to help his son achieve his dream.

The thank you part of the post is my little Alhamdulilah list of big and little things I’m happy about.

1)The Bump! Yay, I’m finally getting a proper bump! Sometimes I forget I then I look in the mirror and see myself with a big bump. Alhamdulilah. It makes up for the fact that I can only wear Crocs as my feet are too huge for normal shoes.

2)Autumn. Love it. Feeling the seasons change is such a blessing here. I love the falling leaves, darker nights and the way the sky smells different.

3)The shop across the road, it’s open twelve hours a day, has a Post Office inside it and sells everything from kitchen utensils to Ben and Jerrys (I find having a supply of Ben Jerrys in such close proximity very comforting, ditto the halal Subways up the road).

4)Winter Prayer times. There’s something really nice about having the prayers in so close together. It really focuses you. Also, not having to get up too early for Fajr is very good.

5)My Before I Have The Baby Book Pile. The Peter Taylor Troubles Trilogy (try saying that fast), the Five Lives of man, Gardens of the Righteous, The Years of Rice and Salt… I’m to get something by Isabel Allende too. Any other recommendations please share. Also if there is such a thing as a non-sanctimonious, helpful baby book.

6)Ebay. A Bargain Hunter’s paradise. I’m not ashamed to say, I’ve got some great baby things from there.

7)Mr Outlines (saving the best til last, masha Allah’s please) because he’s lovely and is as pleased with my bump as I am.

Anyway, for all the pregnant and previously pregnant ladies out there, here’s some glam rock to shake your bump to:

*I think Lewis Hamilton does identify as mixed race, which is more common as a racial descriptor in the U.K, then in the U.S. Obama I’ve heard identified and I think indentifing, as both mixed race and black. I’m happy to discuss this point and change my wording if necessary.

3 Responses

  1. I’m really anxious about the election too.

  2. I’m terrified & excited about tomorrow.

    I voted two weeks ago, did phonebanking to undecided voters in New Mexico for the campaign, gave donations to the campaign, & convinced my family to vote for Obama after decades of Republicanism. I’ve never been so involved – financially, emotionally, time-wise and intellectually – in a campaign!

    Insh’Allah tomorrow brings President Obama. may God bless and guide him to be a moral and good leader, ameen.

  3. Hi Safiya! I’m so glad you’re happy and enjoying your pregnancy! I’ve been keeping an eye on quite a few soon-to-be-moms lately, and their glow and joy is really refreshing, mood swings and all that aside 🙂

    I also hope Obama wins, but then again, I’m not getting my hopes up. Bush did get elected twice!

Leave a Reply

