Would Eight be That Great?

I’ve been tagged by Dave. Here’s the meme: McCain has 8 homes in the U.S. You have to pick eight places you would like to live. List them. You don’t have to list your reasons, but if you do at least for a few of them, it would be more fun. And remember that the only rule is: the homes must be within the borders of the United States of America or else, within the borders of the country you live in, so as to utterly emulate the McCains. When you’re done, tag 8 people, so that they may join in the self-indulgence, forgetting about the crappy property market and the equivalent of The End of Pompeii on Wall-Street. You could spend your time hammering your doors and windows shut in preparation for the apocalypse instead, but it would be much less fun.

Being a normal human being with no powers of teleportation or even a private jet at my disposal, I have to wonder what I would actually do with eight houses. That actually sounds like quite a lot of work. If I had the wealth to afford them, then I would probably also have staff to run them e.t.c, but that still sounds like too much hassle for me.

Anyway, here’s my list:

1) Newcastle, County Down Northern Ireland. A small town at the foot of the Mourne Mountains. Mountains so beautiful, there’s a song about them. They are also the mountains I use in my profile picture, in case you were wondering.

2)Llyn Peninsula, Wales. Another coastal property with great scenery. I’m torn between here and the South Wales coast, but this wins because it’s more of a Welsh speaking area and I would love to learn Welsh fluently.

N.B A native arabic speaker once rather snottily informed that we would all be speaking Arabic in paradise, to which I replied that in paradise all our dreams would come true and therefore I would be speaking in Welsh and Spanish.

3) My Hometown (ish), somewhere in the North West of England. My parents still live there, so it would be good to have a place nearby

4)London, mainly for easy access to Heathrow for trips abroad.

5) I’m starting to run out of ideas at this point. I think a house on one of the Hebrides would be quite pleasant. Plus, Mr Outlines has watched Braveheart a few too many times and is slightly obsessed with Scotland.

6)Birmingham. Unfairly maligned for it’s accent and supposed ugliness, it’s actually got most things you want in a city, is way cheaper than London and with such a multi cultural population, you get no hijab wearing hassles there.

7)Leicester. So I can be close to the mighty Foxes.

8)The Isles of Scilly. The warmest weather in the U.K. Need I say more?

Where I would actually like to own property (but not eight):

1)Llyn Peninsula, Wales. See above

2)Damascus, Syria. Would be great to have somewhere to stay that wasn’t behind a wasikh shwarma shop that smelt like something out of C.S.I. Yes, Mr Outlines and I had to flee to the in laws (which was actually very pleasant and we should have just stayed there in the first place.) Both me and Umm Mr Outlines had to be dissuaded from standing outside the aforementioned shwarma shop and telling it’s many customers to go elsewhere. This was for my own good as my shoddy arabic meant my warning tactics would have just involved shouting “Wasikh!” and “Haraam” while waving my arms, so  I would have certainly been arrested and I’m sure that Syrian prisions do not have Western toilets and I really cannot deal with Arab toilets for prolonged periods of time.

3)Somewhere on the Syrian Coast. Not quite sure where, possibly near Umm Tyroor, but I would want a private beach so no one could drop any litter, anywhere.

4)Barcelona. Freddie Mercury sang a song about the place, what greater recommendation could there be?

5)Amsterdam. It’s just a lovely city with great food.

6)Some tropical paradise in Malaysia.

But again, I wouldn’t be too concerned about owning property in these places, just getting to visit them a lot would suit me fine.

The tagged are:

1) Yasmine of Sweep the Sunshine

2) Dictator Princess

3)Baraka

4)Ali La Loca

5)Forever Loyal

6)Lucky Fatima

7)Southern Muslimah

8)Jamerican Muslimah

10 Responses

  1. I just did this one! Great fun!

  2. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    Amsterdam. It’s just a lovely city with great food.

    Really? The Netherlands is notorious for its bad food, particularly its fast food. Or do you mean the ethnic places? Are they better than in London? Why not get an old house in one of the old Arab cities in Morocco, cos they eat couscous and tagine every day there.

  3. Salaam Alaikum,

    Mona- I agree!

    Yusuf – When I visited I had delicious homemade tomato soup and pannekoken and the patisseries are great. I did have one dodgy portion of chips, but then it’s increasingly hard to find a decent chippy in the U.K

  4. Love your choices. Malaysia is a place I’d like to visit better – we just spent a lot of time in the airport…

    My answers are up, all in the US.

  5. salam alaikoum
    writing it right nowz….yay

  6. holy wowee, i don’t know if i can even think of 8 places! the mind, it is boggling. shall try to brainstorm, and tackle this. thanks for the tag! =)

    your choices of potential houses/properties sound so fun and lovely.

  7. i can’t just be constrained to the USA and UAE now!

  8. These all sound amazing! It would be great to keep moving around all year long without paying for hotel rooms 🙂 I’d love to spend a couple of months in Barcelona if I can’t afford more…

  9. Salaam Alaikum,

    Can’t wait to read all your choices ladies.

  10. ASA,

    I am so sorry I never saw this. I recently listed 6 (or was it 5?) places I’d like to live. I’ve got to get over here more. 🙂

Leave a Reply

