The blessed month, a big burn and baby buttcheeks

A belated Ramadan Mubarak to everyone!

Insha Allah this month is bringing you blessings and nearness to Allah the Almighty. I’m having a reasonable Ramadan, some of my aims I’m achieving, others not so much.

The big burn happened to my right foot.

I was standing barefoot in the middle of the kitchen, near the cooker, when I felt the overwhelming urge to scream. It wasn’t until about three screams later that I actually saw why I was screaming: A saucepan had fallen off the cooker (not sure how), spilling it’s contents of boiling hot butter and pasta all over my foot.

Mr Outlines who was doing the dishes turned round, saw what had happened and threw cold water on it straight away and then filled up a bucket of cold water for my foot.

So ensued a partial thickness burn, several weeks of hospital visits, burn blisters, the breakdown of the burnt tissue, wound dressings, barely being able to walk and pain, Ya Rabb the pain. Childbirth is really going to have to work hard to top this.

In a conversation shortly afterwards, Mr Outlines and I discussed how these things happen as a test. To which I exclaimed “But Allah subhana wa T’Ala, knows me, He knows I’m rubbish at tests and being patient!”

The thing I usually take away from each Ramadan is a renewed sense of humility. We can be so arrogant on the earth, yet having to go without food and water quickly weakens us, makes us realise how dependent we are on Allah’s rizq.

When my foot was at it’s most painful, walking or even standing became very difficult. Even going from room to room was a major effort and struggle. Little tasks like washing the dishes or making wudu became tests of balance and endurance. I would watch people walking outside the house and see how they didn’t even have to worry about putting one foot in front of the other, they just did it. I longed to feel that ease again. I know I would savour it, each step a blessing to feel grateful for.

Alhamdulilah, my foot has nearly healed and I am almost walking normally, although there will probably be extensive scarring, insha Allah this won’t cause any mobility problems.

However, if there is one message I can deliver from this, it is:

Always wear some form of protective foot wear in the kitchen!!!

I know we Muslims tend to be a bunch of bare-footers or flip flop wearers in the house, which is dangerous when you consider our love of frying and boiling food. A chef would never work in flip flops and neither should you. If you spend a lot of time in the kitchen, considering in investing in a pair of chef’s clogs. They’re not that expensive and they will protect your feet.

*****

Aside from that I’ve had my twenty week scan, Alhamdulilah, Oreo is healthy and a good size and is…

…a girl! Alhamdulilah! I didn’t have any preference, but we did both think it would be a girl.

Btw, the Mummy Wars start early don’t they? Already, I’ve had people telling me not to find out the sex (although it was hard not to see on the scan) and how strange it is. Folks, chill, it’s not your baby.

Ah and I have more of this to come. Recently, I witnessed a Muslim gentlemen opining that women should have many children as possible and that not doing so was evidence of the corruption of Muslims by Western values. As I was not really party to this conversation ( I was earwigging on the men across the room), I could do nothing except bite my tongue until the blood dripped down my chin. It’s not enough for us to be good is it? We have to be superior and impress on others our superiority at all times (and yes, this is sarcasm).

Enough ranting.

Alhamdulilah, this is Ramadan and the month of fasting for Allah subhana wa’ t’ Ala alone.

Alhamdulilah for all His blessings, whether we perceive them or not, they are there.

11 Responses

  1. “But Allah subhana wa T’Ala, knows me, He knows I’m rubbish at tests and being patient!”

    Hilarious stuff! I totally get you, hehe. Alhamdulillah.

    Mabrook on the baby girl, masha’Allah. Any names come to mind? Personally, I think I’d like to keep the first one a surprise, then ask the gender for all the others (my ideal number of kids is three… not very ambitious, I know, until you realise I am an only child, and thus not sure I could handle a big family!).

    Of course, that’s if I ever get married! hehe. Insha’Allah.

  2. Salaams dear!

    My goodness the burn sounds awful! I’m so sorry you had to go through that hon and glad that you’re feeling better now.

    Mubarik on your baby girl – may she be a delight to you eyes, heart & soul always ameen!

    Lots of love & duas,
    Baraka

  3. eek! hope you’re feeling better inshaAllah! makes you wonder about the hellfire right? *shivers*

    Mubarak on the baby, may Allah bring her into this world in good health ameen!!

  4. Oh, you poor thing. Alhamdullilah that you’re burn is almost healed. As for that guy, BIG eyeroll!

  5. MashAllah a little girl!!!! How wonderful, I’m so excited for you! Personally I think its nuts to not find out the sex of the baby, think of how hard it would be to shop for baby stuff! I’m finding out inshAllah on every single one of my children.
    One of my best friends, due to her husband’s culture, found out the sex but couldn’t tell anyone since it was against “society rules” where her husband is from. RUBBISH! Anyways, I don’t know what would be worse: knowing the baby’s sex and not being able to buy anything sex-specific so as to not tip anyone off (not even her own mother knew the sex) or not knowing at all and not being able to buy sex-specific things.
    It is a boy, btw, and he wears nothing but green clothes. Which, come to think of it, is pretty Islam friendly considering how important green is.
    Babies… oh babies.

    I hope that your foot is ok inshAllah, what an awful thing to have to go through! But, I do enjoy your looking on the upside: after being through that all pain pales before it. Including birthing pains! InshAllah your delivery is safe and easy. 😀

    Sending you love and good vibes.

  6. Assalam-alaikam,
    hee hee, I thought i was the only one that whinged and cajoled at Allah (SWT). I hope you’re foot is a lot better now. If you saw the state of my kitchen floor, you’d know why I never go barefoot in there.

    Congratulations’s mash’Allah, just ignore the mummy wars, I asked with each baby what sex it was as I didn’t have the patience to wait until they were born. It helps to know in your mind for all the plans and dreams – being the mother of a little girl is not the same as being he mother of a little boy. Happy planning and happy daydreaming.

  7. There is nothing more humbling than losing the use of any part of the bodies we all take for granted. May Allah reward you for trying to find the silver lining in this mishap, even though, as you admit, you suck at tests and such…
    Congrats on the baby girl! Swt.
    and gr-r-r-r at the gent who thinks Muslim women who don’t have a lot of children are becoming “Western.” I love children and wish I could have a houseful. But I am physically incapable of bearing many children! Carrying my precious twins practically ran me into the ground, physically. I had a horrific c-section, followed by a surgical gall bladder removal (many women have to have their gall bladders removed as the direct result of a c-section). And don’t forget the hernias… I am permanently deformed. I shudder to think what would happen to me if I tried that again! Alhamdulillah, I just want to appreciate the two little bright-eyed gifts I have and leave it at that. If I got pregnant again I would certainly not terminate it but I think I would cry all the way to the dreaded end. What’s the point of having more if I won’t be healthy enough to take care of him or her or them?

  8. What? Of course you should have as many children as possible. We need more children to make up an army to take over the world! It is a conspiracy of the West to convinve us to have less!

    So happy for your girlie news! Alf mabrook!

    And sorry about the foot. BTW…child birth is surely gonna be worse, hehehehe!

  9. Mabruk for the baby girl!!! Ramadan and Ei’d Mubarak!
    SubhanAllah the tests we get! Your poor foot May ALlah ease the suffering! I remember in USA I sprained my ankle badly and was on crutches but til i got to the doctor I kept saying alhamdulliah so Allah would ease the pain because i was being thankful and of course the pain didn’t stop…..but stil of course i kept saying it. I too watched the nimble walkers with morose but soon the pain recedes and we forget our new nibleness and that is sad. Alahmdulliah you will be cured and have wiped out sins 😀

  10. Hee, hee, hee, ha, ha, ha……..oh SWEETHEART, let me assure you that childbirth will INSTANTLY remove any memory you have of that burn on your foot.

    INSTANTLY!

  11. MASHALLAH!!! A BABY GIRL!!! 😀 May Allah give you an easy childbirth and a healthy, happy baby, enshallah! YAY BABY GIRLS!

Leave a Reply

