Scribbles not Outlines 6 – Olympic Special

Sadly, I did not get to watch that much of the Olympics this year, as it was very selfishly taking place in the wrong time zone for me to watch it live. Edited highlights are just not as good.

Thankfully, this great oversight will be rectified in 2012, as I will not just be able to watch it on the tv at a proper hour but may also be to watch some events in person.

To all you non-U.K readers, I will let you in on a little secret: The country as a whole is absolutely petrified about hosting the next Olympics.

Our bid was a load of hot air and blagging and we don’t really have that much money. Plus, the city of London is an infrastructural nightmare and we are very bad at building things 1) Within budget 2)To schedule. I think the fact that our main rivals for the bid were the French, led to it becoming a big “We can’t possibly lose to them”- fest and we just said anything to convince the judges.

Such fears are not helped by the fact that Beijing have just held the biggest and most expensive Olympics ever and we’re worried ours will look like a school sports day in comparison.

At least we have some decent athletes. It was a pleasant surprise to finish in the top 5 of the medal table, almost as pleasant as asking Mr Outlines if his country had won any medals yet (His country have actually only won three Olympic medals – ever).

Our football teams may be less successful, but one tournament would could have held not embarrassed ourselves at would be the World Cup. Considering we have arguably the best football stadia in the world (a fact which is admittedly is due to very tragic reasons.) and are well used to dealing with’exuberant’ football fans, hosting the World Cup would be a very low effort profile/tourism boost.

Anyway, time for my Olympic highlight. Very long time readers may know that I prefer spangles to sweat and so for me, the individual final of the Women’s Rhythmic gymnastics was a must see. I do not care if some people think it is not a proper sport, some people are just miserable kill joys.

For many spectators, the Olympics are a chance to relive their childhood sporting dreams. I must confess that, despite being a spectacularly ungainly child, I spent many hours prancing around the garden with a ribbon on a stick.

I love the fact that rhythmic gymnasts, unlike their artistic counterparts look like they’ve been allowed to reach puberty. Also there’s the costumes. Here,  the key concept is WWBMD? or What Would Bob Mackie Design? (For those who don’t know who Bob Mackie is, think Cher in lots of sequins)

To illustrate my point I give you just one of the shimmering outfits worn by Aliya Yussupova:

Shoddy wordpress won’t let me insert it, so here’s a link instead.

Oreo has decided to start doing some gymnastics of his/her own, which mainly seems to involve a lot of kicking!

N.B

I love Bob Mackie’s designs really I do. Whenever someone asks me “What do you wear under that?” or, “So what you wear at home when you don’t wear your headscarf?” I always want to reply; “Bob Mackie, darling”.

7 Responses

  1. Salaam;

    This webcomic was published today; I think you will enjoy it as it’s quite topical! Sheldon Comics

    I love those costumes, too! The one worn by Aliya is especially pretty. 🙂

  2. As-Salaamu ‘alaikum,

    A lot of people in London actually did not want London to host the games. There was no serious choice in the elections in 2004, at which all three major party candidates supported the bid. Much of the public “support” was manufactured, with a lot of propaganda all over the place from the powers that be (and companies with an interest in the project), complete with a phone number to text to voice support, but none to voice opposition. I am surprised that the Muslims in that part of London did not mobilise against it, because it threatened to ruin an area where Muslims could live as themselves. It could still do, once the “regeneration” starts pushing up rents and house prices.

  3. I used to do rhythmic gymnastics back before it was an olympic sport, and am so excited to be able to watch the best of the best nowadays. I was terrible at it, btw, definitely not flexible enought. But it sure was fun!

  4. lol “Bob Mackie, darling.” You’re a class act, sister. 🙂
    Ramazan mobarak to you and your family! I hope this Ramazan is blessed for you!

  5. Glad the lil un is comin along!

    I enjoyed the olympics a lot, the dumbass “Tibetan freedom” (read; slavery under the lamas was awesome!) protestors aside. Shan and I had a bet as to whose country would get more gold, which she won of course. At least Phelps made it close(r). I’ve always loved gymnastics in pretty much any form. I did Capoeira for a few years and am fascinated with disciplines that push the speed, agility, and flexibility of the human body.

  6. Plus, the city of London is an infrastructural nightmare and we are very bad at building things 1) Within budget 2)To schedule. I think the fact that our main rivals for the bid were the French, led to it becoming a big “We can’t possibly lose to them”- fest and we just said anything to convince the judges.

    hahahaha that first part (#1 and #2) made me laugh and say to myself, ‘wait, are we talking about south asia?!’ the second part – re. the rivalry – just makes me want to give a smashing highfive to the UK. this post cracks me up, especially your blase, ‘bob mackie, darling‘ line. =)

    i hope you and your Inner Party Animal are doing well, inshaAllah!

  7. […]   To all you non-U.K readers, I will let you in on a little secret: The country as a whole is absolute… […]

Leave a Reply

