Mosiac

Work has been eating up the rest of my life like A Very Hungry Caterpillar, hence no posts here of late.

I often have ideas for posts fizzing in my head, but so rarely have the chance to sit down and write them.

Nafs. Mine are sadly sturdy and well-fed creatures, but lately, they’ve not just been running the show but wearing military uniform and having parades in their honour. As the summer light causes the prayer times to slide apart, opportunities for revolt abound.

Fajr is obedience. Not only awakening from the sweetest sleep, but getting up, splashing water then standing, bowing, sujood and sitting. I do this for me, but more then this, I do it for Him, to start the day with the right hand angel writing.

Tonight I came home wanting to eat and set my brain adrift from the comfort of the sofa, but it was time to pray. I made myself go and make wudu, then pray.

It was not the best prayer. My recitation was faster then it should be, concentration lacking, for I am a poor servant, easily distracted, eating bread at the circuses. Yet, by the end I am sitting feeling the honour of the prayer, the joy of the connection.

Al Halim, let my heart be Yours always

8 Responses

  1. MashAllah 🙂

  2. My nafs are well-fed these days too, astagfirallah. Dunya, dunya, dunya.
    This is meant to help make you feel better/thankful, k? Prayer Times for me coming up at the end of the month:
    Fajr 3:06 AM
    Mahgrib: 11:20 PM
    Isha: 12:50 PM
    I am one super thankful sister for the short winter fasts in Alaska, alhumdiallah.
    Love and Peace,
    ~Brooke

  3. Salaam Alaikum,

    Molly – Thanks

    Brooke aka Ummbadier – Wow! What’s it like a being a Muslim in Alaska? Is the community very big?

    Yes I do feel thankful now. 😉

  4. I love this book! My kids love it too 🙂

    My nafs is revolt/ing too….

  5. Assalam-alaikam,
    My kids adore this book also.
    I think we are all adjusting a little to the longer daylight hours and their effect on Salah and our nafs is taking advantage – my weakness is sleep and I haven’t managed to get to bed before midnight for the last month. Wow, I can’t imagine the prayer times in Alaska.

  6. Salaam Alaikum,

    Umm Salihah – Welcome to my blog! I loved that book as a child too. It’s good to see it’s retained it’s popularity.

    My weakness is sleep too, I love it so much :s

  7. Well–I get up about 2:30 AM pray Isha, wait a few minutes for Fajr and then sleep for a lonnnggg time!
    The community is not very big. We do not have an official Masjid (owned rather than rented space) or Iman. So no school of course. I can’t say it has been my favorite place to live.
    Love and Peace,
    ~Brooke

  8. Salaam Alaikum Brooke – I guess I’m just really interested in how you ended up in Alaska. Insha Allah I hope living there gets better for you soon.

    Btw, did you know there is a mosque in Antartica?

Leave a Reply

