Scribbles not Outlines 1

A weekly (or whenever I feel like it) miscellany:

Mouth ulcers are really, really sore. I had two last week. There is just no need to experience that much discomfort in your mouth.

After hearing so much fuss, I’ve rented the first season of The Wire. I’ll let you know if it’s any good or not.

Brad Renfro was left out of the ‘Death Reel’ at the Oscars. I always liked him and really hoped he would make it through his problems. Sadly it wasn’t to be. Drugs are crap. There’s more I could write about that, but that’s what it boils down to.

Ya’ani, Abu Sinan is back in the blogosphere! Ru7 and have a look akhi/Ukhti

I think I’m going to buy a new mobile phone. Any suggestions?

Several news stories made me feel like this.

I recently tried Iranian ice cream. It was a very pleasant mix of creamy/rosey/nutty. I wanted to find out where ice cream originated from. According to Wiki, different forms of ice cream have been made all over the world for centuries. I find that fact to be strangely uplifting. Also, I found out there is such a thing as fried ice cream(!). Has anyone got a recipe for this? (LuckyFatima and Umm Farouq, I know you both love cooking, have you heard of this?).

As this is a random post I thought I’d post a photo I’ve wanted to stick on my blog for ages. Long time readers will know that my admiration of Ms Tymoshenko stretches back a long way.

urkrainethumbsup1219071.jpg

Alhamdulilah for everything!

16 Responses

  1. Hi Safiya! Any ulcer sucks, they are really hard to take. As most serious illnesses, actually.

    What phone are you looking for. If you what a really thin and simple-looking one, take a look at Nokia 6500 classic. It has a lot of gadgets I don’t use, but I love how it looks :d Or are you planning on getting a smart phone? If so, do let me know what you get. I am analyzing that for the future 🙂

    Oh, I remember that hairdo. I think you’ve posted other photos of her, right?

  2. I gotta tell you I love a random post! I hate mouth pain! It’s the worst kind and I am prone to biting my tongue.

  3. I’m pretty ignorant of her politics but that woman has great fashion sense.

  4. I got this stuff called Zovirax for the dang-blang cold sore. It at least took that throbbing root pain away that made the whole right side of my face ache. Alhamdulillah.

    As for the fried ice cream (YUM!) the recipe I know calls for a really super frozen ball of ice cream (vanilla), roll it in some brown sugar and cinnamon mixed w/ oatmeal and coconut, and deep fry (just 30 seconds or so). At least that’s what they used to do at JC Garcia’s, the restaurant that first employed my husband under the table, way back in the day. Top w/ chocolate sauce and whipped cream. (the ice cream)

    I will now do an official search for a recipe one can make at home. Back to you soon, inshaAllah.

  5. Salaam Alaikum everyone

    Alina – Don’t worry, mouth ulcers aren’t serious, just sore. The Nokia 6500 does look great. However my dream phone would be an LG Viewty. I’ll have to wait until my contract ends before getting one of those though 😦
    You are definitely one of my long time readers 🙂

    Mona – Biting your tongue is excruiciating. Ouch!

    Nadia – I have mixed feelings about her politics, but she always looks superb. Very feminine without being trashy.

    Umm Farouq – Glad you’re feeling better. I knew you’d have a recipe for me. That JC Garcia recipe sounds delicious. If I went to the US, I think I would come back a lot fatter. 😉

  6. Got you a recipe, and it seems really simple. Must try!

    http://southernmuslimah.blogspot.com/2008/03/viva-helado.html

  7. random comment for a random blog:

    thank you for giving me an alternate way of writing “ya3nee”

    cuz ya’ani, apparently Asmaa hates alliterated arabic that includes numbers as well as my husband, but I just couldn’t figure out a way to insinuate the “ein” sound into romanized arabic.

    I was even pondering it in the shower this morning.

    So thanks.

    And also, the reason I grew my hair ridiculously long is because I found a pic of my great-great-aunt (ukrainian by the way) who wore her hair in that exact same braid around the head. And I wanted to do that.

    I still can.

    And sorry about the ulcers, it sounds painful, what are they from?

  8. Hah, thanks for the mention. I had to laugh at the “ya’ani” you added, for my benefit of course. Who knows, maybe it will be the newest trend in the West. Know what I mean……ya’ani? }:>)

  9. Salaam Alaikum –

    Umm Farouq – I knew you’d find something! Thank you so much. The recipe looks fairly straight forward too.

    Molly – I don’t why I got two mouth ulcers at once, but they’ve gone now.
    I’ve never worn my hair in that style. Next big ladies only do, I will, insha Allah.

    Abu Sinan – Your reputation as ‘Hater of the word ya’ani when spoken by non-native arabic speakers’ proceeds you! Seriously, I’m really pleased to see you back blogging. Yours was a much missed voice.

  10. Salaam ‘alaykum dear and I’m sorry to hear about the painful ulcers!

    Hope you’re all better soon and find some fried ice cream to delight the buds with 🙂

    Warmly,
    Baraka

  11. Ah now, it isnt just “ya’ani” I guess it would be any Arabic word thrown into English conversations when it doesnt deal with God.

    I dont mind “Insha’Allahs” and “Alhamudillahs”. There is a reason for them, remembering God. Using “ya’ani” and words like “sa7” in an otherwise English conversation is nothing more than an affectation.

    I speak Arab conversationally and German as well, I would never think to combine any of the languages together because it just isnt natural. “Verstehen sie………fihimti…sa7”?

  12. Sorry to hear about the ulcers. Could be a vitamin B-12 deficiency. Have you tried a supplement? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oral_ulcer

  13. Salaam Alaikum,

    Baraka – Alhamdulilah, my mouth is better and I’m able to enjoy my favourite foods again!

    Abu Sinan – I can see you point and I know your stance on the fractured identity many converts have.

    However, to look at this from another point of view. Spoken language is a fluid thing, easily altered by outside influences. Look at how pervading American slang is. Many use it without realising. These are words and phrases that are found in the media and enter one’s vocabulary almost sub consciously. So it could be that someone here’s these words a lot, likes the sound of them or there usuage and begins to use them. English is chock full of loanwords anyway.

    So someone using the word ya’ani may not be using it as an affectation.

    Urban Voyeur – Welcome to my blog! I’ve checked your site, you’re really talented and have such a great eye. How did you find my blog?

    That wiki link is a bit scary. I think I might start taking vitamin supplemtns though, so thanks for the advice.

  14. Fried Ice Cream is good, but for pure, horrifically unhealthy deliciousness, tempura battered deep fried cheesecake is the way to go.

  15. I dont know Safiya, but understand where you are coming from. Accidently mixing up words is one thing I have done myself. I remember going to a German place awhile ago. I came to the counter and said “Ich brauche arba bretzln, losamati”.

    My daughter looked at me, so did the lady. Both the lady and my daughter understood about half of what I said, one’s half in German, the other’s in Arabic. As I do not use German that much anymore it is hard to get my mind to think in German now.

  16. Salaam Alaikum,

    Dave – Deep fried cheesecake! That sounds so much like ‘The Last Days of Elvis’ style cuisine and yet I still want to try it.

    Abu Sinan – I hope you do keep up with the German. I’m very strongly pro-EU and European integration and I would love to speak another European language. I lived all over Germany when I was a child, it’s a great country.

Leave a Reply

