We Are All in This Together

arafat.jpgBig hijab flutter to Baraka for the link to the BBC photograph and general inspiration.

Eid Mubarak. I will admit that Eid Al Adha, always sneaks up on me. I don’t anticipate it in the same way as Eid Al Fitr. Like a lot of converts, I’m still trying to make my own Eid celebrations, because Alhamdulilah, it is a day of celebration, I want it to feel like a special day.

Eid Al Adha, of course, marks the end of Hajj. There is something so awesome about the Hajj. When I see photographs of it, my heart is filled with yearning. I want to go home to a place I have never been.

I know Hajj is a serious undertaking, an obligation, a test, but I long to be there. To stand where the Prophet, peace and blessings of Allah be upon him, stood. The atmosphere filled with angels.

Photographs of the Hajj allow us to see the Ummah, or at least a very broad cross section of it. I realise the wickness and futlilty of backbiting, a sin I am sadly guilty of. I know that by our faith, my brothers and sisters in Islam are closer to me than they are distant from me. Subhana Allah, how we cut each other down with our words and deeds, and for what reason? If we dislike someone, why do we publicly criticise instead of privately discussing or secretly praying for them? Remember that Allah swt knows this person’s deeds and reasons already, He swt, doesn’t need us to broadcast them to Him. I’ve read the most cruellest insults thrown about by Muslims towards each other, often in the name of piety or enjoining the good.

A simple test: when you write or say something, think which angel writes it down, is it the angel on the left or the angel on the right?

See the picture above, we are all travelling on the path together. If you don’t like the way your brother is walking, don’t insult his sandals, this might discourage him from the path altogether. Instead, show kindness to him and offer him a better pair of sandals. You might need new sandals yourself one day.

I write this as a reminder to myself, first and foremost. Ya Rabb, I need your help in this and everything else. Ameen.

8 Responses

  1. “A simple test: when you write or say something, think which angel writes it down, is it the angel on the left or the angel on the right?

    See the picture above, we are all travelling on the path together. If you don’t like the way your brother is walking, don’t insult his sandals, this might discourage him from the path altogether. Instead, show kindness to him and offer him a better pair of sandals. You might need new sandals yourself one day.”

    Subhan-Allah – wonderfully said!

    Bless you for sharing your beautiful thoughts and a very blessed Eid to you!

    Love,
    Baraka

  2. Salaam and eid mobarak to you!
    Great post; I wish we could remember all year how important unity is to our communities, and that respectful disagreement serves Allah (swt) better than insults.

  3. EId Mubarak to you, thanks for this lovely post, beautifully worded, mashaAllah. May Allah grant us the opportunity to make hajj soon inshaAllah.

  4. Extraordinary photographs.

  5. Word.

  6. A beautiful post, and Eid Mubarak.

  7. How’s everything going?

  8. Eid Mubarak Safiya…I know it’s too late,but anyway :)…

    I like very much this post.Backbating is very bad!However,I think that everyone sooner or later says something negative about someone else.Well,the most important thing is to try not to do it.You are right,we are all on the same path…and let me add,that on this path we need each other more than we are ready to admit.

    I wish you all the best in the year 2008 and God bless you!

Leave a Reply

