Carnival Time – Celebrating Muslim Motherhood

Firstly, a confession. I didn’t get many submissions, so I actually went hunting for some worthy material.

Masha Allah, there is so much out there, this is just a small selection.

If anyone would like to add to it, please email me: safiyaoutlines at gmail dot com, or alternatively, you can leave comment.

On with the carnival!

Luckyfatima describes how giving birth provides a new awareness of your body and it’s natural strength

Mamamona posts about raising her son to be a good Muslim man. Gori Wife shares her feelings at having a son and ponders the questions he may ask about his faith as he grows older

Happy Muslim Mama tells of how cultural values lead to daughters being undervalued and how she is ensuring her daughters grow up secure in their worth.

Nzingha is encouraging her daughter to follow her dream of being an Islamic judge.

A Mother can frequently feel torn between many roles, that of a Muslimah, a wife, a mother, plus their own wants and needs. Tasmiya and Southern Muslimah each describe how they cope with such conflicts.

Incorporating the deen into every day life and instilling a love for Allah The Most High is the most important role of any Muslim parent.

Muslim Mama recalls the deen routine she grew up with and how she is doing similar activities with her children.

Achelois’ post is a beautiful story of teaching her son the power of du’a

In her second post of the carnival, Happy Muslim Mama details the difficulties and rewards of praying with children.

Leila El Haddad of the Raising  Yousuf and Noor blog describes celebrating Eid, making it fun for her children while hiding the worry she feels for her parents. Please make du’a that they are reunited soon.

The next selection of posts look at Muslim mothers, from a daughter’s perspective.

Baraka and Digital Niqabi‘s beautiful posts both look at their how their relationship with their mothers has changed as they have grown to know them as people, beyond the mothering role. Updated: Yasmine from Sweep the Sunshine has also submitted a post about her mother. These three posts are glorious examples of the love a mother can inspire.

Finally, being the mother to a Muslim when you are not Muslim yourself.

In a post that resonated with me personally, Molly Multicultural Muslimah describes  how her mother supported her through her conversion.

Alhamdulilah for mothers, being mothered and mothering.

17 Responses

  1. Salam, and what a beautiful job you did. Thank you.

  2. [...] original post here: Carnival Time – Celebrating Muslim Motherhood « Outlines This entry is filed under Muslim, Object. You can follow any responses to this entry through the [...]

  3. I am a new muslimah and a mom struggling to find my way without a masjid, without sisters to share Islam with.

    I have a few blogs.
    http://www.thenewmuslimah.blogspot.com/ is where I will write about Islam and my journey as I enter the deen.

    I also blog at http://www.commoncentsmom about how to save cents and http://www.simplyhollie.blogspot.com is about me and life in general.

  4. Salaam Alaikum.

    Thanks Umm Farouq

    Hollie –

    I’ve fixed the link of your new Muslim website.

    Also, and you may not believe this but… sometimes not being around other Muslims can actually be helpful in terms of you finding your way as a Muslim.

    I converted as a single woman in a city with very few Muslims. It was lonely, but looking back I am so thankful to have had the opportunity to learn Islam and practice it at my own pace.

    Often new muslims feel very torn by those around them, some will say you should do this, others say you must to that, others still will claim to have a hotline to Allah and that He will be angry unless you do x, y,z.

    Not only will these well meaning individuals often not have any insight into what it is like to be a convert, but a lot of the information they tell you might be incorrect in the first place.

    On your website you mentioned about learning Wudu and prayer. Those are pretty much the most important and difficult acts to learn. Establishing prayer is hard, but it really does make a difference, even those times when you don’t feel like it (especially those times when you don’t feel like it).

    When it’s you by yourself getting up to pray with no one to remind you and encourage you do it, then know that you are doing it solely to please Allah and that each time you do it it will strengthen your faith.

    Don’t worry about too much else at this point, including hijab. Slow and steady is the best way.

    The internet is a great way to reach out to other Muslimahs, most of the sites on my blogroll are Muslimah’s blogs. You will see that they’re all pretty different.

    Two sites I especially recommend on my blogroll are Brother Irving’s blog, Darvish and Sister Baraka’s blog, Rickshaw Diaries. Both are filled with beautiful spiritually nourishing writing.

    As above all, as Muslims we are always working towards knowing and loving God and how Merciful, Gracious and Loving is He.

    May Allah guide and Protect you on your journey.

  5. Thanks Safiya, This is a great list of posts…reading now!

  6. Thank you so much. I have found some great new blogs that I am sure to revisit.

    Well done!

  7. This was such a beautiful idea, Safiya! =)
    I am SO looking forward to sitting down tonight and making my way through all these posts!

    Thank you for inviting me to join this effort, too. I’m sorry I didn’t reply sooner. Here is the post I had meant to submit; I wrote it 5 years ago about my ummy, and yet it still holds just as true now as it did then.

    I’ve updated the post to include your piece. Masha Allah, it’s too beautiful not to include.

  8. What a lovely collection. I hope you do another soon!

  9. [...] Celebrating Muslim Motherhood Carnival is now up! Take a [...]

  10. [...] Carnival Time – Celebrating Muslim Motherhood « Outlines Firstly, a confession. I didn’t get many submissions, so I actually went hunting for some worthy material. [...]

  11. Salaams dear -

    What a wonderful carnival – thanks so much for putting this together!

    I’ve been traveling since the 23rd & got back last night so am finally getting the time to read all these lovely posts!

    Love,
    B

  12. This was really wonderful, masha Allah and speaking of carnivals…
    http://sheerfluency.wordpress.com/2009/05/07/the-white-privilege-the-ummah-carnival-what-does-it-mean-to-you-them-and-us/
    Love and Peace,
    ~Brooke

  13. [...] Safiya of Outlines reveals the disadvantages of being the sought-after White sister and acknowledges the necessity to reject elusive cultural norms, “The concept of White superiority is alien to Islam, in fact it’s haraam and so it is one that White Muslims must work very hard to shed, without seeking any reward.” Being Muslim While White Privileged also, check out her carnival: Celebrating Muslim Motherhood [...]

  14. As-salaamu-alaikum,
    I apologize, I was one of those who agreed to contribute. I had and have an unexpected situation which has been taking up alot of my time.
    I’ve had an idea kicking around my head for awhile, so insha’allah i’ll get working on it, even if it ends up being a really short piece.

  15. JazakAllah khair for a wonderful post.

    Thanks for sharing it.

  16. Oh I really like this…now have to make time to read all the interesting blogs! I have my own blog about being a Aussie muslimah, motherhood, and reflections on life in general ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

