Waiting for this moment to explain itself through

Firstly, I’d like to thank everyone who left such lovely comments on my last two posts.

Blogging, like most things, can be positive and enriching, or incredibly destructive.

Alhamdulilah, I’ve found my three years in the blogosphere to be in the former category. However, that doesn’t mean I have always behaved perfectly, so at this juncture, I remind myself and anyone else to be nice.

Nice. Nice is an underrated and frequently mokced quality. It does not mean being weak or artificial, like many think it does.

No, to be nice means to treat others with politeness, dignity and respect. So that even if you disagree with someone, you critique the idea or opinion instead of criticising and insulting the person.

Despite frequent reminders of the importance of correct speech within the Islamic faith, the Muslim blogosphere is not always a nice place to be.

It is sad that most Muslim blogs use comment moderation, not just to block abuse from Islamophobes but from their brothers and sisters in Islam.

Actually, sad doesn’t quite cover it. It is a devastating fact. We are meant to love each other, want the best for each other, yet we seem to relish insulting and mocking each other.

We could be so much more then that. The concept of “Online Friends” is an odd one, yet I feel like I have met so many wonderful and inspiring people through the internet. There are many wonderful blogs out there, that inspire me and push me, challenge my ideas and preconceptions.

Let’s encourage and nurture each other.

As a kind of third birthday thing, here are some posts from my old blog:

Blame it on the Burqa/This is why I mod

Prithee Fair Cliche

Barmy Stickers at Bus Stops

So Easy

Everybody is a V.I.P to Somebody

Not Right in The Head

What Rape Is

Is there a Special Fruit You Can Eat To Keep Gynaecologists At Bay?

For The Love Of…

*****

In case you’re wondering, Oreo is fine, Alhamdulilah. I’m resisting the temptation to write reams about her, because I don’t want to bore you all!

5 Responses

  1. I talk about my babes all the time. Talk away if you feel like it.

  2. Nice little post there, Sis.

    You made several good points. It is a crying shame that we can be so vicious towards one another. But finding a few good friends out there in the otherwise creepy blogosphere can surely make up for the bad. I think it would be a great thing to one day see all of us bloggers in person at some kind of blogging convention (an ISNA side forum, perhaps?). I wonder if all the smack talkers would be so, so….”smacky” if they/we were all standing in the same room, face to face with one another.

    Hmmmm……..

    Now, I would love to hear all about Oreo. I am starting to forget those days of no sleep and walking around smelling like milk all the time.

    Your “online friend”, ’til the end. ;)

    Sabiwabi

  3. Great advice!

  4. I so feel you! And sometimes those online slights from others really piss me off more than annoying people in real life, do. Blogging can be so fun, but also tense.

    Please do tell us about sweetie Oreo!

  5. Agreed! But, as I’ve been told by countless stand-up comediennes: Canadians. You’re all so…. ‘nice.'” So I guess I’m safe.

    Not that make it sound like such a good thing, though. More like we’re limpid, opinion-less, and spineless to boot. I like nice. When did it ever get to be such a bad thing? I blame it on Simon Cowell’s and his type. Mean, sarcastic people…. grr. Ruining it for all the nice people out there…

    and, yes! Do type reams upon reams about Oreo. We’ll all ohh and ahhhh through the blogosphere =)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

